November 23, 2021

Illustration by Tatyana Antusenok via iStock

Have you ever heard of sidereal astrology? When we read a magazine, newspaper or any other article about astrology, we know that the horoscopes are based on the tropical system – a system prevalent in the West and not sidereal astrology which is used by ancient cultures like Mayans, Egyptians and Vedic (Indian).

Both systems are true but the sidereal system is based on the current position of the constellations. This means that there is a 24 degree gap between the tropical and sidereal system and that your ascendant (the rising sign that was in the sky at the time of birth), sun, moon and even the positions of other planets differ from that in tropical.

For example: if you are born between 21 January and 19 February, you are an Aquarius sun sign in Tropical Astrology. Most probably in sidereal astrology you would be a Capricorn sun sign. While most of us think that the sun sign is the most important planet and our horoscope is solely based on it, there is much more to astrology. In both systems – all the planets jointly play a role in deciding your horoscope. In sidereal astrology the sun stands for our soul and ego but it also stands as a natural significator for our father while the moon stands for our emotions and mind and it significates our mother.

Rahu (Thus, in sidereal astrology the moon plays an even more important role because our mind is everything. Besides the planets Rahu (North Node) and Ketu (South Node) also play an important role and are karmic points in astrology. They are always in opposite houses and sign of each other. For example: Aquarius-Leo or Capricorn-Cancer axis.

Another important planet is the sign that governs the rising sign (ascendant) because the rising sign is an embodiment of your physical existence. All planets have a signification (and this signification is many and also depends on which house the planet owns). We know that there are 12 zodiac signs and all these zodiac signs have a planetary ruler which rules over a house in your chart:

  • Aries – Mars
  • Taurus – Venus
  • Gemini – Mercury
  • Cancer – Moon
  • Leo – Sun
  • Virgo – Mercury
  • Libra – Venus
  • Scorpio – Mars
  • Sagittarius – Jupiter
  • Capricorn – Saturn
  • Aquarius – Saturn
  • Pisces – Jupiter

How this exactly plays out depends on your rising sign (ascendant) and what the rulerships are for each planet will be explained by an example chart. Birth date: 11 October, 1980 at 2:42 PM in Vienna, Austria.
To see the sidereal chart go to

Here are the basic steps, how to read your chart via the Astrosage app or website:

What you basically do is ‘click’ on kundli (birth chart). If you put in the birth details mentioned above to generate an example chart you will see that the Asc (ascendant) is in Capricorn, the Sun is in Virgo, the Moon is in Libra, Mars in Scorpio, Mercury in Libra, Jupiter in Virgo, Venus in Leo, Saturn in Virgo, Rahu in Cancer and Ketu in Capricorn.

Capricorn is the ascendant, so the first house of this chart. The ruler of the ascendant (1st house) of Capricorn is YOU and it’s placed in Virgo in the 9th house of the birth chart. The second house is Aquarius (it comes after Capricorn) and its ruler is also Saturn. The third house is Pisces and its ruler Jupiter is also in the 9th house.

The fourth house is Aries and its ruler Mars is in Scorpio in the 11th house. To help you, use the table above and start from your ascendant. So, if your ascendant is Gemini (1st house) the second house will be Cancer and so on.
You can generate your horoscope in exactly the same manner as the above example.

A side note: sidereal astrology is far more complex than only the planets. In Vedic astrology there is a dasha (time) system to allocate events, nakshatra’s (lunar mansion) and divisional charts (which gives a snapshot for a specific area in life).

Nevertheless, a monthly prediction cannot cover all these elements because this would require a full chart reading. For now, it’s important to know how to see what your sidereal rising sign (ascendant), sun and moon sign is. This because you can see transits and natal planet placements from:

  • ascendant: our physical existence
  • from the sun sign: our soul and ego
  • from the moon sign: our mind emotions.

On the basis of this, we will provide monthly astrology forecasts for each sign.

Illustration via iStock & Charts via Astrosage

*This post is 100% not sponsored

1 Comment



  • Leave a Reply

    %d bloggers like this:
    powered by chloédigital